Pre Race Jitters?

Everyone deals with their own pre-race stuff.

Any pre-race rituals?
Power songs?
Lucky charms?
Winner dinner?
Sayings?

My first race, I had NO IDEA what the heck I was doing. My heart was pounding, my stomach was up in my throat, my hands were tingling…I was so excited and so nervous, I didn’t know how to handle everything! 

What did I end up doing? Head, shoulders, knees and toes. Seriously. I found a few other first timers who were also dealing with pre-race jitters and we all ended up having a flat out dance party before the race started. With music blaring from an iPhone, 11 grown adults let go of inhibitions to party and take our mind off of 4:00am, 40 degrees and smell from the hundred port-a-potties creeping with the wind. And it was amazing. So much fun to see people let loose, sing and dance in the wee hours of the morning in a cold canyon in Utah. 

I loved it! 

So, when I had my first half marathon this year (which was today), what did I do for my jitters? Started a dance party, of course! It was especially great because I ran into these two guys who were gung-ho about dancing in the first place. Thanks for beating the nerves with me, AJ and Tim!

Leave a Reply

