Smooooooothie goodness!

Who doesn’t like their coffee in the morning? Especially after long workouts. Or when it’s uber cold outside and you’re freezing and don’t want to get out of your warm bed. I’ve started making this shake for post-run motivation. If I finish my workout, THEN I can have my shake. The best part? it’s healthy and it’s got that coffee fix I need in the AM!

4 ounces milk (I like almond or coconut, you can use whatever kind you want)
4 ounces chilled coffee
2 TBS almonds
2 tsp cocoa poswer
1 banana (I like mine frozen)

Sometimes I’ll mix in chia seeds or maca root. Blend this all together and voila! You’ve got a delicious recovery drink that’s got that little pick-me-up you need in the morning!

If I’m not needing that caffeine, I’ll make this delicious smoothie to eat on my way to work. I love it 🙂

1/2 frozen banana
3/4 C greek yogurt
1/2 frozen pineapple (sometimes I’ll substitute fresh seasonal fruit here-strawberries, peaches, raspberries, etc.)
2 TBS ground flaxseed
1 TBS maca root
1 TBS chia seeds
1/2 C orange juice
1 TBS honey

If either of these who shakes are too thick for you, just add water! It’s the best!

Guest Post – Lauren Buhler is passionate about teaching all around her the benefits of healthy living and active lifestyles. Between balancing six kids (yep, we said six), she teaches Intensity! classes and boot camp classes at the local gym as well as train runners for half and full marathons. When she’s got time, she likes to act as a pacer for ultramarathoners. What a woman!

Leave a Reply

