Throwback Thursday

I wasn’t always a runner.

When I was young, I use to run all the time. I’d run with friends to another backyard. We’d all run in night games of tag, kick-the-can or stinky sardines.

Then as I got older, I started to hate running. I’m still not sure why. I don’t know if it was because I was lazy or jealous of my neighbor/friend (check her out-she’s amazing http://allie.fastrunningblog.com)

However it happened, I’m still not sure. I went through all of high school and most of college loathing the thought of going for a run. I’d always figured that dancing was enough for me. Well, of course, it wasn’t. I claimed it made my hips hurt; that a pervious back injury kept me from running long or fast; that I’d rather swim or bike (which I never did). I was always making up excuses, and they were mostly for myself. 

One winter, while getting ready for a family Christmas party, I discovered that I could no longer fit into a pair of jeans I wore in high school. I didn’t think I had gained that much weight in college – I had grown 2 inches during my 5 years at the university (rare for a girl, I know) – but not being able to fit into those pants was so depressing for me. And because I’m a girl and we’re so obsessed with our image in a totally unhealthy way, I decided something needed to be done.

Months passed. I tried calorie counting. Tried meaning it didn’t work. I tried going gluten and sugar free. The only difference I noticed was my energy level was up. I tried eating only organic. With all of these, I knew in my mind that I needed to couple it with exercise that was different than dancing but I was determined to lose weight without it. 

In May, I met a boy at a whole foods fair. He was handsome, charming…and a runner. When asked if I run, I lied, saying that I had done a few 5k races. We decided to race together.

Went out and bought a pair of shoes that day. Started running that day. After a few months of running, my wanting to impress him turned into “I can’t wait till I get off work so I can go run.” 

A lovely transition.

And now, just like when I was little, running is fun again. As it should be. 
When it comes to exercise, it’s ok to look back at where you’ve been as long as it’s to find the love you once had for it.

Leave a Reply

