Little 10k victories

The 4th of July is my absolute favorite holiday!

Fresh veggies and fruit, family and friends, BBQs or fire pits, fireworks and…races!

This year, I talked my family into running with me. My mom, brother, sister, sister-in-law and cousin walked/ran the 5k. My brother-in-law and I did the 10k. All of my other siblings/family who were there cheered us on at the finish line. 

It was so much fun! And a little more difficult than I had anticipated. 

For starters, it had rained all night before, so instead of the dry Utah heat I’m use to, it was humid. SO hard for me to breathe in that! 
Second, the first 5 miles were all uphill. Never very fun.
Third, I was in the middle of recovering from an injury, so even though I wanted to push myself more than what I did, my realistic side kept fighting off my competitive side. My left ankle – the injured one – had KT tape supporting it as well as a compression sock. Kind of weird to run with only one on. 


It wasn’t my best race, for sure. That being said, it wasn’t my worst either. I found someone to run with – Marve, age 72, average mile pace 9:15. She’s competed the Boston marathon three times, the St. George marathon 11 and organizes marathons all across Utah. What a woman! We stayed together and talked for a good few miles till she finally started running faster than I’d allow myself.

I crossed the finish line at 51:32. I finished 6th from last out of 40 people. When I first finished, I was upset with myself because I felt I didn’t do my best. I complained to my mom about it. She and everyone else was there, cheering me on and encouraging me to run hard through the last 100 feet. 

She gave me a hug and said, “You’ve done well by your standards for today. With where your body is, your ankle being hurt, you did an amazing job. Take the credit that you deserve.”

I’ve got a great mom. She’s always helping me realize that the small victories are always worth celebrating. 

All in all, it was a great day. And a great race 🙂

Leave a Reply

