Scrumptious Saturday

Scrumptious Saturday

One of my favorite dishes for summertime is a fresh salad. This one, in particular, I could eat every single day. I love it! Super easy to make AND it’s healthy πŸ™‚ Win, win – right? Right. My favorite part of this salad? That I can walk into my garden and pick all of the ingredients that I need…everything except the quinoa, of course.

Summer Quinoa Salad
2 C quinoa (cook 2 cups)
green/yellow/red peppers
tomatoes
onion OR green onion
sliced olives
cucumber
yellow squash
zucchini
black beans (drain and rinse in strainer)
cilantro
corn (I don’t always put this in)
sea salt
pepper
oil (about 1/4 C)
rice vinegar (about 1/3 C)
juice from 1 lemon

**IF YOU’RE SOMEONE WHO NEEDS TO MEASURE THINGS, I GUESSTIMATE ON EVERYTHING I PUT IN

Cook the quinoa as directed (hint-tastes a little better when you do half water, half chicken broth). Set aside to cool. Slice or dice all of the veggies – do however many you want. I really like tomatoes, so I add a lot of tomatoes! And I really dice the onion and finely chop the cilantro.
Combine all veggies and quinoa together. Add oil, salt and pepper. Mix together carefully. Once you’ve got the salt and pepper taste that you want, add the vinegar and lemon juice.
Let it sit in the fridge for an hour or more so that the flavors can blend well. Devour and enjoy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

